Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Theater feature: 'Blasted,' 'Mack and Mabel' win big at 35th Carbonells

Joe Adler and the cast of Blasted, which won
Best Play for GableStage at Monday night's Carbonell Awards.

By Hap Erstein‭

Last night’s‭ ‬35th annual Carbonell Awards ceremony had a curious,‭ ‬unscripted recurring theme‭ ‬--‭ ‬actor Todd Allen Durkin’s private parts.

I guess we should have seen it coming‭ ‬--‭ ‬the theme,‭ ‬not the naughty bits‭ ‬--‭ ‬since he did appear full frontally nude in Gable Stage’s production of‭ ‬Blasted,‭ ‬the runaway award winner,‭ ‬and later was featured in Mosaic Theatre’s‭ ‬The Irish Curse,‭ ‬which talked about,‭ ‬but didn’t show,‭ ‬the genetic tendency of Irish men to have small genitals.

In any event,‭ ‬the evening began with a clever musical parody of Stephen Sondheim’s‭ ‬Art Isn’t Easy,‭ ‬with lyrics by Maribeth Graham reviewing the year in South Florida theater.‭ ‬In it,‭ ‬she made the first mention of Durkin’s penis‭ ‬--‭ ‬following it with a very Sondheimian rhyme‭ “‬between us‭” ‬--‭ ‬and many a presenter and recipient followed suit.

Picture Joe Adler and Avi Hoffman,‭ ‬the directors of the two above plays,‭ ‬discussing across the stage of the Broward Center’s Amaturo Theatre,‭ ‬the relative size of Durkin’s,‭ ‬um,‭ ‬Johnson.‭ ‬Alas,‭ ‬Durkin did not win a Carbonell for his‭ ‬Blasted‭ ‬performance,‭ ‬so he had no opportunity for a podium rebuttal,‭ ‬settling instead for a few shouted responses from the audience.

Later,‭ ‬when Gregg Weiner won for the year’s Best Actor in GableStage’s‭ ‬Fifty Words,‭ ‬he recalled his early acting training at New World School of the Arts,‭ ‬where he learned to‭ “‬act with his balls.‭” ‬That,‭ ‬too,‭ ‬quickly became a catch phrase of the evening.

Anyway,‭ ‬it was a big night for‭ ‬Blasted,‭ ‬the Sarah Kane play heavy with sexual and political perversions,‭ ‬which Adler called the most daring play he had ever produced.‭ ‬It won for Best Play Production,‭ ‬Best Director‭ (‬Adler‭)‬,‭ ‬Best Sound Design‭ (‬Matt Corey‭)‬,‭ ‬Best Scenic Design‭ (‬Tim Connolly‭) ‬and Best Lighting Design‭ (‬Jeff Quinn‭)‬.

Actors‭’ ‬Playhouse of Coral Gables,‭ ‬perennial winner for its major musical productions,‭ ‬won for‭ ‬Miss Saigon,‭ ‬which‭ ‬was cited for Best Director‭ (‬David Arisco‭)‬,‭ ‬Best Actor in a Musical‭ (‬Herman Sebek‭) ‬and Best Musical Direction‭ (‬Eric Alsford‭)‬.‭ ‬In the evening’s chief surprise,‭ ‬though,‭ ‬it lost the Best Production of a Musical Carbonell to Broward Stage Door Theatre’s‭ ‬Mack and Mabel,‭ ‬the only award that show received.

Among Palm Beach County theaters,‭ ‬the Maltz Jupiter had a good night,‭ ‬pulling in four Carbonells for three different shows‭ ‬--‭ ‬Best Ensemble‭ (‬Twelve Angry Men‭)‬,‭ ‬Best Actress,‭ ‬Musical‭ (‬Tari Kelly,‭ ‬Anything Goes‭)‬,‭ ‬Best Choreography‭ (‬Marcia Milgrom Dodge,‭ ‬Anything Goes‭) ‬and Best Costume Design‭ (‬Jose M.‭ ‬Rivera,‭ ‬La Cage aux Folles‭)‬.‭

Florida Stage demonstrated its ability to find and develop new plays,‭ ‬winning for Best New Work‭ (‬Christopher Demos-Brown’s‭ ‬When the Sun Shone Brighter‭)‬.‭ ‬It also was cited for two of its performers,‭ ‬Deborah L.‭ ‬Sherman‭ (‬Best Supporting Actress,‭ ‬Play,‭ ‬Goldie,‭ ‬Max‭ & ‬Milk‭) ‬and Nick Duckart‭ (‬Best Supporting Actor,‭ ‬Musical,‭ ‬Dr.‭ ‬Radio‭)‬.

Palm Beach Dramaworks went home with one award,‭ ‬Best Supporting Actor,‭ ‬Play‭ (‬Will Connolly,‭ ‬Candida‭)‬.‭ ‬The Caldwell Theatre was shut out,‭ ‬however,‭ ‬having gone into the evening with only one nomination.

Here is the complete list of competitive winners:

‭* ‬Best Production of a Play‭ ‬--‭ ‬Blasted,‭ ‬GableStage

‭* ‬Best Production of a Musical‭ ‬--‭ ‬Mack and Mabel,‭ ‬Broward Stage Door Theatre

‭* ‬Best Director,‭ ‬Play‭ ‬--‭ ‬Joseph Adler,‭ ‬Blasted

‭* ‬Best Director,‭ ‬Musical‭ ‬--‭ ‬David Arisco,‭ ‬Miss Saigon,‭ ‬Actors‭’ ‬Playhouse

‭* ‬Best New Work‭ ‬--‭ ‬Christopher Demos-Brown,‭ ‬When the Sun Shone Brighter,‭ ‬Florida Stage

‭* ‬Best Actor,‭ ‬Play‭ ‬--‭ ‬Gregg Weiner,‭ ‬Fifty Words,‭ ‬GableStage‭

* Best Actress,‭ ‬Play‭ ‬--‭ ‬Barbara Bradshaw,‭ ‬Collected Stories,‭ ‬Mosaic Theatre

‭* ‬Best Actor,‭ ‬Musical‭ ‬--‭ ‬Herman Sebek,‭ ‬Miss Saigon

‭* ‬Best Actress,‭ ‬Musical‭ ‬--‭ ‬Tari Kelly,‭ ‬Anything Goes,‭ ‬Maltz Jupiter Theatre

‭* ‬Best Supporting Actor,‭ ‬Play‭ ‬--‭ ‬Will Connolly,‭ ‬Candida,‭ ‬Palm Beach Dramaworks

‭* ‬Best Supporting Actress,‭ ‬Play‭ ‬--‭ ‬Deborah L.‭ ‬Sherman,‭ ‬Goldie,‭ ‬Max‭ & ‬Milk,‭ ‬Florida Stage

‭* ‬Best Supporting Actor,‭ ‬Musical‭ ‬--‭ ‬Nick Duckart,‭ ‬Dr.‭ ‬Radio,‭ ‬Florida Stage

‭* ‬Best Supporting Actress,‭ ‬Musical‭ ‬--‭ ‬Lisa Manuli,‭ ‬Motherhood: The Musical,‭ ‬GFour Productions‭

* Best Musical Direction‭ ‬--‭ ‬Eric Alsford,‭ ‬Miss Saigon

‭* ‬Best Choreography‭ ‬--‭ ‬Marcia Milgrom Dodge,‭ ‬Anything Goes,‭ ‬Maltz Jupiter Theatre

‭* ‬Best Lighting Design‭ ‬--‭ ‬Jeff Quinn,‭ ‬Blasted

‭* ‬Best Scenic Design‭ ‬--‭ ‬Tim Connolly,‭ ‬Blasted

‭* ‬Best Costume Design‭ ‬--‭ ‬Jose M.‭ ‬Rivera,‭ ‬La Cage aux Folles,‭ ‬Maltz Jupiter Theatre

‭* ‬Best Sound Design‭ ‬--‭ ‬Matt Corey,‭ ‬Blasted

‭* ‬Best Ensemble‭ ‬--‭ ‬Twelve Angry Men,‭ ‬Maltz Jupiter Theatre‭

No comments: